View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2007, 06:10 AM
jenf529 jenf529 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 309
Exclamation

Yes, unfortunately it is a scam. There are quite a few clues that point to the fact that it is. One of them being that the e-mail address to contact them is always a free e-mail account. If it is an actually lottery, it will be an e-mail account through the company (ex: joesmith@microsoft.com, janesmith@cocacola.com, and so forth). Also, the number to contact the person, it begins with a code (ex: +44, etc.,). That code will prove that it a nigerian person you are contacting. Remember, if you did not buy a ticket, you didn't win. And another thing, companies just don't hand out millions of dollars randomly. If you received that e-mail and it's also in the archives, that should be a dead giveaway.

__________________
There is no such thing as a free lunch
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Jen
Reply With Quote