View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2008, 11:14 PM
yellowufo yellowufo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Default Watson, James 2007 Audi RS4 13,000.00 ?

Saw this ad for a 100,000.00 car on sale for 13,000.00. Whimisically sent the seller an e-mail saying that if it was for real (if he was that dumb) I would go for it; expected to hear that this was a prcing/typo error. However, I got an e-mail stating that this "too-good-to-be-true" offer was true. Here is a copy of the response:

Hello there,

Thank your for your interest in my car.First of all I want to tell you that the car is still available and includes all the shipping costs and insurance, so you wont have to pay any extra charges. The car looks like new, it has never been scratched or wrecked. It will come with a clear title, bill of sale signed by me as well and all the papers (including the original manuals and keys) that you will need to register it under your name. Please e-mail me back and I will request an invoice right away. Then, all you will need to do is wait for the invoice form eBay Purchase Protection and follow the instructions eBay Purchase Protection provides in there.
I'm selling it at a low price because I've just moved to London,United Kingdom and I can't drive it here because cars from here are with the steering wheel on right,and this it have the steering wheel on left so for me this car is useless.the car will be
shipped from London,United Kingdom. It is already at the shipping company, crated and ready to go.The car will arrive to your door in 5-7 days tops. The final price is $13,000. For payment, IŽll like to use an eBay Purchase Protection service,so we'll be both protected.
No money first to me - i will receive money after you will receive the car.The transaction will be made under eBay Purchase Protection's buyer protection plan.
Since this deal will be made using a THIRD PARTY to help us closing this deal, I prefer honnest buyers. Anyway,if you want more details about this deal, please reply with the following informations:

-Your full name;
-Your shipping address;
-Your phone number;

I'm a serious seller and a fair trader and I prefer to deal only with a serious buyer. If you consider yourself one please e-mail me back so we can start our deal.
I will look for your email, so that we can move forward with this deal!


Here are a couple of odd things:
1) The ad was not on ebay
2) This apparently includes shipping (to Canada ?)
3) This car is EASILY worth 75,000.00
4) Why can't he drive this in the UK ?
5) It sounds like he ALREADY TOOK THE CAR TO LONDON ?
6) Has anybody heard of an "eBay Purchase Protection's buyer protection plan"? Fo an ad through another website ?
7) Return path/sent by not the same: Return-path: <@live.com>
Received: from blu139-omc2-s6.blu139.hotmail.com ([65.55.175.176])

Frankly, this entire thing stinks, although I might try to play him along a bit to get more info (ex. see if the IP address stays the same, etc)

Has anybody got an idea how/where I can look into this further ? Or heard of this before ?

John

Reply With Quote