![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Submit Tools | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
I do not know how secure this posting is. But I ran accross your website and thought I would scan awhile. I have not seen one posting that is anything close to what kind of scam letter I got today in my email account.
I started a 501(C)(3) back in Oct. We have recently thought we would put under jobs on craigslist asking for volunteers and asking someone to donate to a building to run our 501 out of for a distibrution center. So low and behold what did we get in the mail? Actual name of the organization & it's members are x'ed out for privacy issuses. Date: Mon, 7 Jul 2008 20:06:42 +0000 From: coweljames01@yahoo.co.uk Subject: RE: our organisation ..willing to help you To: XXXX@live.com Hello how are you there am so glad to hear this kind of language from you some people dont knw how to ask kind of this question from us then NCI..is not what you think is that Ok our NCI is a new foundation conbine with the help of fedral ,state and soceity NCI is mean national contribute independent volunteer we are just a new foundation i want to hear from you soon.God bless..we are involve in making mind of people to be happy --- On Mon, 7/7/08, XXXX<XXX@live.com> wrote: From: XXXX<XXX@live..com> Subject: RE: our organisation ..willing to help you To: "Cowel James" <coweljames01@yahoo.co.uk> Date: Monday, 7 July, 2008, 3:56 PM I see that you are mailing from a UK email address. So before I submit any information I would love to do a reference check on you to make sure this is not a scam. The web does not pull anything up for the name of your organization. I do see that NCI stands for National Cancer Institute. Where is this volunteer foundation's main office at along with a web address, phone, address and who to contact and call. If you can provide us with this information to make sure you are 100% legal then we will be able to take your donation. For the reason is that Americans have been scammed from people from all over the world. Our Internal Revenue Service which is part of our american goverment system wants us to verify all information for taxes purposes before we can accept any donation. We do hope you understand in this manner. Once we get the information and we check it out we then we would gladly accept your kind donation. Please remit back to us as soon as possible. Thank you The Staff of XXXXXX. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Date: Mon, 7 Jul 2008 12:54:55 +0000 From: coweljames01@yahoo.co.uk Subject: our organisation ..willing to help you To: sankofa_center@yahoo.com Hello, How are you??NCI..VOLUNTEER FOUNDATION is set up to help the poor and needies..Our aim is to help the real people out there, who really need a helping hand, achieve their goals....We help people from all race and believe in the bible passage which says Give and it shall be given to you good measures shall men give onto your bossom.... Having gone through your story in CRAIGSLIST.ORG We are really Pitiful of your situation and ready to help you...We might not be able to meet your need but we will be donating a sum of $500 to you.. So,In the mean time,We will be needing you to provide us with your personal information(Full name,Full address and Phone number)so that we can remit a certified Check or money order to you.... Please let us have the information before the week runs out for we have so many people to help... Thanks and we again show concern and willing to help Regard...... Cowel james MANAGER NCI VOLUNTEER FOUNDATION |
|
|||
|
Dear internetbrat
Thank you for your post and welcome to 419Legal I also searched the organization by google etc., but failed to find an NCI as they claimed. Judging from the email correspondences, it is very much fishy. At this moment it is not so sure how this will develop but normally it is possible to turn out to be “Cheque (money order) fraud”. One possibility is that the amount of the cheque (money order) is significantly more than the beneficiaries expect for donation, and they will be instructed to deposit the cheque or money order into their own account, and then wire the overpayment back to the donar's bank or thru Western Union or MoneyGram which are untraceable. The cheques (money orders) are later found to be fraudulent, often after the wire transfer has taken place, the bank will ask the beneficiaries to pay the all bounced amount back. So it is wise to stay away with the organization and NEVER make further contact with it. Awareriskinc |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|