
07-08-2008, 08:09 AM
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
|
|
Hi everyone. Here is one scam I haven't seen posted yet.
I do not know how secure this posting is. But I ran accross your website and thought I would scan awhile. I have not seen one posting that is anything close to what kind of scam letter I got today in my email account.
I started a 501(C)(3) back in Oct. We have recently thought we would put under jobs on craigslist asking for volunteers and asking someone to donate to a building to run our 501 out of for a distibrution center. So low and behold what did we get in the mail? Actual name of the organization & it's members are x'ed out for privacy issuses.
Date: Mon, 7 Jul 2008 20:06:42 +0000
From: coweljames01@yahoo.co.uk
Subject: RE: our organisation ..willing to help you
To: XXXX@live.com
Hello how are you there am so glad to hear this kind of language from you some people dont knw how to ask kind of this question from us then NCI..is not what you think is that Ok our NCI is a new foundation conbine with the help of fedral ,state and soceity NCI is mean national contribute independent volunteer we are just a new foundation i want to hear from you soon.God bless..we are involve in making mind of people to be happy
--- On Mon, 7/7/08, XXXX<XXX@live.com> wrote:
From: XXXX<XXX@live..com>
Subject: RE: our organisation ..willing to help you
To: "Cowel James" <coweljames01@yahoo.co.uk>
Date: Monday, 7 July, 2008, 3:56 PM
I see that you are mailing from a UK email address. So before I submit any information I would love to do a reference check on you to make sure this is not a scam. The web does not pull anything up for the name of your organization. I do see that NCI stands for National Cancer Institute. Where is this volunteer foundation's main office at along with a web address, phone, address and who to contact and call. If you can provide us with this information to make sure you are 100% legal then we will be able to take your donation. For the reason is that Americans have been scammed from people from all over the world. Our Internal Revenue Service which is part of our american goverment system wants us to verify all information for taxes purposes before we can accept any donation. We do hope you understand in this manner. Once we get the information and we check it out we then we would gladly accept your kind donation.
Please remit back to us as soon as possible.
Thank you
The Staff of XXXXXX.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Mon, 7 Jul 2008 12:54:55 +0000
From: coweljames01@yahoo.co.uk
Subject: our organisation ..willing to help you
To: sankofa_center@yahoo.com
Hello,
How are you??NCI..VOLUNTEER FOUNDATION is set up
to help the poor and needies..Our aim is to help the
real people out there, who really need a helping hand,
achieve their goals....We help people from all race
and believe in the bible passage which says Give and
it shall be given to you good measures shall men give
onto your bossom....
Having gone through your story in CRAIGSLIST.ORG We are really
Pitiful of your situation and ready to help you...We
might not be able to meet your need but we will be
donating a sum of $500 to you..
So,In the mean time,We will be needing you to
provide us with your personal information(Full
name,Full address and Phone number)so that we can
remit a certified Check or money order to you....
Please let us have the information before the week
runs out for we have so many people to help...
Thanks and we again show concern and willing to help
Regard......
Cowel james
MANAGER
NCI VOLUNTEER FOUNDATION
|