![]() |
|
|||
|
Hello,
I'm a newbie and I've been jobhunting online on yahoo hotjobs, so I've been getting a fair amount of spam. I fell for the-job-orbit scam (but am fortunately not receiving spam from them) even after scouting out the website for a while. Now I find a link for Connect Staffing - Bringing employers and job candidates together for successful, long-term matches and it looks built out, but features similarly strange stock photography (a frog prince and a little girl with a hand cupped behind her ear "listening"). I emailed with the subject "testing to see if this is a real site" and received this: Thank you for submitting your resume to Connect Staffing, Inc. We will review your resume as soon as possible. If you need to reach us right away, please call us at 404-946-1949. The phone number lists an employee directory, the first name of which is "Laura Maurice" which is mentioned on the website. What also struck me as odd was the request for the social security number. Um, no. Any news on them? Googling their address brings up several "websites" who are also at that 400 galleria parkway address. It sure does look like another one of those legal fraud headhunter sites. Thanks! -e Last edited by Eponine : 04-27-2008 at 05:01 AM. Reason: No wells fargo, stupid thing!! |
|
|||
|
You're right Eponine, it bears all the hallmarks of a site designed just to harvest personal details.
On the negative side, the site does look like it has been constructed out of templates and stock images. The domain has been with anonymous details (not fake, just hidden). Registrant: Domains by Proxy, Inc. DomainsByProxy.com 15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353 Scottsdale, Arizona 85260 United States Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (Complete Web Solutions: domains, hosting, site builders and SSL.) Domain Name: CONNECTSTAFFINGINC.COM Created on: 15-Apr-07 Expires on: 15-Apr-12 Last Updated on: Administrative Contact: Private, Registration CONNECTSTAFFINGINC.COM@domainsbyproxy.com Domains by Proxy, Inc. DomainsByProxy.com 15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353 Scottsdale, Arizona 85260 United States (480) 624-2599 Fax -- (480) 624-2599 Technical Contact: Private, Registration CONNECTSTAFFINGINC.COM@domainsbyproxy.com Domains by Proxy, Inc. DomainsByProxy.com 15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353 Scottsdale, Arizona 85260 United States (480) 624-2599 Fax -- (480) 624-2599 Domain servers in listed order: NS45.DOMAINCONTROL.COM NS46.DOMAINCONTROL.COM That's a big red flag normally. No business should hide its contact details on the domain registration. On the plus side, the domain registration is for 5 years, most scammers would choose a 1 or 2 year registration. However, Connect Staffing Inc is a properly constituted Georgia corporation, details are at Business Entity. There is a link at the bottom of the site to Media Firma - digital marketing who presumably made the site. They seem to check out OK as a business. I can see no connection at all between Connect Staffing Inc and Internet Solutions Corp who feature regularly on 419legal.org. My best guess is that they are a legitimate recent startup company. The anonymous domain registration is a no-no, the web site is a bit basic but probably didn't cost a lot in branding. Also, all the jobs I can find them advertising seem to be in the GA area which is another indication that they might be a real business. Assuming that Connect Staffing Inc are legitimate, isn't it a shame that there are so many employment scam sites out there that people are immediately suspicious of what appears to be a genuine startup? The fraudsters are certainly damaging the employment business! |
|
|||
|
Thank you, Ayman!
I'll give them a call tomorrow to see what I can find out. If they are legit, I may mention that their website looks just like the harvesting sites and that I was the one who emailed a test email. I'd just wanted to see if I got a "Thank for your application. You can work from home and make $50,000 a week! Go to our website." (That did happen after I applied via a legit looking post on yahoo hot jobs. No more applying to companies that are "confidential.") Thanks again! ![]() -e |
|
|||
|
Connect Staffing, Inc. is a legitimate Georgia Corporation specializing in administrative and professional placements. I utilized them for (2) of my last positions and Laura Maurice has a great reputation. It is prudent to protect your private information while on the web. The social security question is to run a background check if the position you are seeking calls for such.
You can rest assured that your information is being protected and Connect Staffing is a great recruiting firm. I hope this helps you rest easier. Take care.
|
|
|||
|
Connect Staffing, Inc. is a legitimate Georgia Corporation specializing in administrative and professional placements. I utilized them for (2) of my last positions and Laura Maurice has a great reputation. It is prudent to protect your private information while on the web. The social security question is to run a background check if the position you are seeking calls for such (law firms have sensitive information and clients, for example).
You can rest assured that your information is being protected and Connect Staffing is a great recruiting firm. I hope this helps you rest easier. Take care. Quote:
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|