|
|||
|
I receive job offers from this web site that fit my background. They claim to represent companies in my town. After submitting my resume, etc. I am instructed to contact their home page in three days. However, there is no home page, and am not directed to their company using CareerServices100.com. Has anyone else had experience with this web site? I am beginning to think it is a phishing scam.
|
|
|||
|
I found this forum after receiving the latest scam message from someone identifying themselves as metroplacingservices.com. They have a home page but no real contact info or any other verifiable physical existence. I found them listed in the forum here during my research before responding to the email. I'm sorry you already submitted your resume. ID theft is rampant these days. If you get a message from these metro folks or Career Network (CN) as their homepage identified them, try to report them to your mail service and anybody else who can help track them down. And trust your instincts when it comes to wonderful offers from unknown entities. Know who you're dealing with.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Yes, I just received an email from them today. Offering me employment with Lockheed Martin in Atlanta. I had no idea it could be a scam. Then I went to the lockheed martin website regarding employment, and the first thing that pops up is them warning you about this situation and they say do not respond. But I did because I didn't know anything about this scam. Now I am sorry I did.
|
|
|||
|
These guys suck. They also post job listings on the yahoo hotjobs site. The company name for the job offer is always listed under "confidential".
They seem to like to post fake jobs for warehouse workers,security guards, and I think I saw one for a railroad worker once. you can easily tell it's them if you end up at a page that has a form that looks like this(copy and paste the imiage url to view it) dockload.net/misc/scamjobs.png It's all part of career-network.com Their operation uses a ton of urls that all lead back to career-network.com Here's a list of the websites I've noticed they advertise under: alliumcareersnow.com blastcareers.com career-zoom.com CareerServices100.com careerspageup.com count-down-careers.com directcareerjobs.com employment-axis.com employment-sourcecareers.com employmentflash.com employmentfrostnow.com extendyourcareers.com findemploymentaxis.com greatestcustomcareers.com imageemployment.com lightspeedcareers.com mycareerace.com thebestcareerresource.com thecareer-selection.com theconcordcareers.com theemerald-careers.com thefuturecareersnow.com thenextperfectjob.com twinklecareers.com youlookforcareers.com yourcareerdrive.com Just for fun I went to their main site: "career-network.com" and told them that I was lookign for a job within 10 miles of a small town in alaska (used the search by zipcode option) that has a population of less than 500. It came back with over 2000 fake jobs that I could "apply for". I then did a job search for area code 71585, which isn't even a real zipcode as far as I can tell and it still displayed over 2000 phony jobs. Before I knew they were not legit I applied for a job they had listed on yahoo hotjobs. After you apply they will ask you to list references and their email addresses. I listed a few people I know. The people I listed did receive a survey in their email asking questions about me. once they have your email address they start sending you more fake job offers. I wish I knew what these people were actually up too. No real company needs a million different phony sounding urls to do legitimate business. Edit: I just found out the list of phony sites is much larger than what I listed. I also found out that this scam is apparently the work of Alexander Simon copy and paste these two urls into your browser for more info: siteadvisor.com/sites/internetsolutionscorp.com/msgpage?page=2 kidstalentnotwork.com/about-me/ Last edited by user529; 01-09-2009 at 03:36 AM. |
|
|||
|
I have also received a ton of emails from career network offering me jobs that I am suited for. After you fill out your personal info you are directed to several pages offering schooling, home business opportunities and various other pay services. I think the whole thing is an ad for those websites. Anyway... I still need a job!
|
|
|||
|
I responded to an ad on Craigslist for a Front Office Associate position. Shortly thereafter, I received an email response that wreaked of a money laundering scam (i.e., people will send you checks, you deposit them at YOUR bank, keep your commisions, etc.). I immediately reported the ad to Craigslist as being a scam. The ad was removed and I figured that was the end of it. Recently, however, I got a TEXT MESSAGE from Career Network, as follows: "Fr: 320-75 (CAREERNETWORK): Hi [my name], call me about the Office Associate Job you have applied for 8669621446. (txt STOP to cancel)" Of course, I did not reply. They have my cell # because it's on the top of my resume.
No matter the job market situation - but especially in this current economy - these people need to be arrested or, at the very minimum, banned from posting ANYTHING on the Internet! If that happened, the website dealers could be notifed of these scammers' names, and court-ordered not to sell them anymore websites! Wouldn't that be something?!! If anyone knows who to contact to have that done, post it so that all of us who have been contacted by Career Network can follow through on it - thanks! Good Luck, Everyone! GirafeLady |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|