![]() |
|
|||
|
Has anybody else heard of this outfit? I grew suspicious after receiving the following email from "cb3@industrybusinesswebhosting531.com":
Recently on national job board you indicated your interest in jobs with the following skillset: project management, database & budget administration, large server environment -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- To send in your resume, click here. xxxxx xxxxxxxxx, I have the following job available: Job Title: Manager, Database Administration (Job Number: 0800462)? Skills Required: project management, database & budget administration, large server environment Location: West Lafayette, IN 47907 Pay Rate: DOE Description: The Manager, Database Administration will manage the Database Administration effort within ?IT System and Operation in ITaP. Design and implement effective database infrastructure ?environment including hardware, networking, storage and software components. Work with ?managers of other infrastructure areas to provide highly-available services to Purdue students, ?faculty and staff. Establish and maintain monitoring and reporting systems. Supervise Database ?Administration staff. Ensure appropriate communications with management, customers, vendors ?and similar support groups in other Database Administration environments.? Qualifications Required:? ?-Bachelor's degree. ? ?-Three years experience in project management and personnel leadership in a ?supervisory/managerial role, including budget administration. ? ?-Consideration will be given to an equivalent combination of related education and required ?work experience. ? ?-Experience in information technology and large server environments ? ?-Experience with support for a wide range of technologies including database, server, web, ?storage, and networking administration. ? ?-A solid understanding of infrastructure systems architecture and administration. ? ?-Excellent written and verbal communication skills. ? ?-Able to work independently and as part of a team. ? ?-Ability to coordinate several projects simultaneously, and set and adhere to project deadlines. ? ?-Able to interact with a variety of customers in a professional manner. ? ?-Good problem-solving, collaboration and planning skills, and demonstrate effective team ?building skills. ? Preferred:? ?-Bachelor's degree in Science, Engineering, or Information Technology. ? ?-Knowledge of University purchasing, budget, and human resource policies and procedures. ? A check of criminal conviction records will be made for employment in this position.? Purdue University is an Equal Opportunity/Equal Access/Affirmative Action Employer ?committed to achieving a diverse workforce.? To send in your resume, click here. "Better opportunities and less competition" ================================================== ====== The stray question marks throughout the letter caught my eye. I found no way to validate who was running the site even tho they have pretty pictures of technology and standard "About" & "Contact Us" pages. The site is for industrybusinesswebhosting.com without the 531 in the name. There was no site with 531 in the name. RSVP if you have info on this possible scam. Thanks... |
|
|||
|
mark2vic
Welcome to this forum. It is just a brandt new site but puting the mail text in a scam parcer sounds alert. If you had posted his mail including full headers it would located where comes from. Such job positions are not in hands of headhunters.
__________________
Better safe than sorry To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
|
|||
|
Thanks for the response Mercenary. I hope I can contribute to the well-being of others through participating like this. Regarding the full header, since I traced it back to the dubious site industrybusinesswebhosting.com through the "Click here to send resume" link, would the full header show additional useful ties?
This info was at the bottom of the email: HostingBusinessWebsites 1220-100 L Street #462 NW Washington, DC 20005 Further checking reveals that is a box at the Mailboxes Etc. located there. I can't find the option to show full headers on my mail service at this time. I'll keep looking. Thanks again for your response & good work at 419. |
|
|||
|
Some mail providers don't offer such option.
One solution is to use a "yahoo" mail to contact with unknown sources like posting resumes etc, because has such option and unlimited storage. You get many info for the sender (originating IP, Server etc etc) that makes easy to trace him. Another solution is to get a special program to trace every mail you get where comes from (don't cost enough). But believe your insticts and always search everything comes from unknown source.
__________________
Better safe than sorry To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
|
|||
|
While I have not received any acknowledgement from Purdue Univ for reporting the previous use of their reputation in the email solicitations, I have received another one from
HostingRecruitersWebsites.com this time with 527 instead of 531 in the address. Everything else was the same. So they're still trying. Mercenary, I received so much spam/junk at my Yahoo address I had to set the filter to so high it was sending all but a few actual junk messages to junk mail holding tank. It did send referrals from old friends who didn't pass on my new alternate address to their referrals to junk mail every time and caused alot of hurt feelings. So I just stopped using Yahoo for personal and work-related messaging except for specific Hotjob-related messages. Even the address where I received these emails has rejected emails from governement contacts who were added to my safe list when I sent them emails first! It's very frustrating. Putting the address w/531 in my watch list only resulted in them changing to 527 to get around it. They already changed from Business Industry to Industry Business in their address. Apparently the FTC isn't concerned since they're not "selling" products. The USPS goes after these kind of people who use mail for contact. That's why the culprits prefer phone and email for their phishing. Seems like there should still be some agency concerned with this type of criminal activity though. From: ea1@industrybusinesswebhosting527.com To: xxxxx@xxx.com Date: Tue, 1 Apr 2008 11:03:25 -0800 Subject: Basis Administrator (Job Number: 0800303) Purdue University Take care everybody... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Depending on your resume info, these scammers may gain knowledge about others who worked where you have. So that puts others at risk through having known you. One way I'm personally being hurt right now is from calls from the same kind of scammers. My pre-paid phone service minutes are being consumed by scammers instead of legitimate business and personal use. The scammers are defrauding the resume hosting services in addition to scamming us. That hurts the business of the legitimate resume hosting services. |
|
|||
|
Thank you Mark.
They have my resume with home address, phone #, email address. I dont have more information on my resume. I do not intend to correspond further with them. Infact I did not even complete my application process, but I know for a fact that they would have saved my info while I was still going through the process. Thanks for your help and this site for guidance! |
|
|||
|
Take a look at the Name, Phone Numbers, Addresses, etc. Good indication that this is not real.
It might be interesting to see what happens if one sent an email (from an anonymous account) to the registration holder; jj9999@email801.com ================== whois -h whois.enom.com industrybusinesswebhosting630.com ... =-=-=-= <a href="http://www.aboutus.org/industrybusinesswebhosting630.com">AboutUs: industrybusinesswebhosting630.com</a> Registration Service Provided By: NameCheap.com Contact: support@NameCheap.com Visit: Namecheap.com - Domain name registration, renewal and transfers - Cheap SSL Certificates - Web Hosting - Free URL Forwarding, Free e-mail forwarding and Free DNS services are included with our cheap domain registration service Domain name: industrybusinesswebhosting630.com Registrant Contact: Aaron Arnone Aaron Arnone (jj9999@email801.com) +1.9175432351 Fax: +1.5555555555 1220-100 L Street #462 NW Washington, DC 20005 US Administrative Contact: Aaron Arnone Aaron Arnone (jj9999@email801.com) +1.9175432351 Fax: +1.5555555555 1220-100 L Street #462 NW Washington, DC 20005 US Technical Contact: Aaron Arnone Aaron Arnone (jj9999@email801.com) +1.9175432351 Fax: +1.5555555555 1220-100 L Street #462 NW Washington, DC 20005 US Status: Locked Name Servers: dns1.registrar-servers.com dns2.registrar-servers.com dns3.registrar-servers.com Creation date: 12 May 2008 09:30:36 Expiration date: 12 May 2009 09:30:36 =-=-=-= |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|