![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Submit Tools | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Good point Mercenary!!! Everyone here seems to be concerned about losing money, which is a good concern. But my first thought when I had received this job ad, which I neglected to mention, was that it sounded like some sort of money laundering sceme, which is illegal. Perfect for someone to send you money, you deposit it, and send money back.
|
|
|||
|
I received a prospecting letter yesterday and job offer today that were nearly identical to what was posted by Bob Loblaw (post 14044) except that the company now is "FT West Invest", and the "Human Resources Director" is "Michael McHugh". The prospecting letter was sent by the Monster Job Search Agent, and the reply went directly to hr@ftwestinvest.com. They use identical coordinates (physical address and phone number), only the US fax number is different.
Here are the letters. First the prospecting from Monster: Quote:
Quote:
Then some more serious problems: 1) the explanation why they would be willing to pay 5% commission for cash disbursement doesn't sound credible; 2) there is no such organization as an "international Anti Money Laundering Association"; 3) a search for "ft west invest" turns up a total of 6 hits on Google (four career sites: indeed.com, jobster.com, monster.com, experience.com) - obviously a brand new company, busy looking for eager but gullible people. Unfortunately, it takes a while to find relevant info on them exactly because they are a new company. Which is why I decided to post this, so that hopefully this page gets up to Google soon. Last edited by aquirata : 01-23-2008 at 01:05 PM. Reason: added title |
|
|||
|
Dear aquirata
Welcome to this forum. It sounds that the only new is the title of this company, is an old known scam who changed name and title. If you had posted his email including his e-mail address with full headers, it should be easy now to tell you where this scam is located and is already his name in any database. But I noticed that you pointed good all marks making obvious that mail is scam.
__________________
Better safe than sorry
|
|
|||
|
Mercenary,
Here is the header from the first letter (my personal info blocked - hope I caught them all): Quote:
Quote:
I have reported this to Monster and my mail provider. Any other boards it could be posted? Last edited by aquirata : 01-23-2008 at 07:34 PM. Reason: removed time zone refs for receiver |
|
|||
|
Dear Aquirata
Unfortunatelly are missing some parts to trace the sender. I inform you that every post here comes on the top of resaults in google search engine therefore this "company?" as also sender's name are already known all over the world. Any other post in similar forums will help if their post are connected also with search engines. It would be good to abuse him to AOL.
__________________
Better safe than sorry
|
|
|||
|
That's great news, Mercenary!
If you tell me which parts of the header you are looking for, I can copy and paste them here. Sent an account abuse report to TOSEmail1@aol.com, . Last edited by Mercenary : 03-23-2008 at 10:13 PM. |
|
|||
|
Below is current info on this topic as of Jan 30, 2008.
Re: Business Partner Opportunity advertised on CareerBuilder.com See email header info below. Response (from ftwestinvest@aol.com) to my inquiry (sent to hr@ftwestinvest.com) from: John Foremore johnft@ftwestinvest.com Human Resources Director Fax Number : (270) 721-8171 Phone Number: 44-20-7691-9432 FT West Invest - Assets Management and Executive Correspondence Directorate FT West Investments Ltd 43 Spring Grove London W4 3NH London UK Return-Path: <ftwestinvest@aol.com> Delivery-Date: Wed, 30 Jan 2008 15:32:52 -0500 Received-SPF: pass (mxus5: domain of aol.com designates 64.12.137.2 as permitted sender) client-ip=64.12.137.2; envelope-from=ftwestinvest@aol.com; helo=imo-m21.mx.aol.com; Received: from imo-m21.mx.aol.com (imo-m21.mx.aol.com [64.12.137.2]) by mx.perfora.net (node=mxus5) with ESMTP (Nemesis) id 0MKono-1JKJc41Q87-0000a2 for xxx@xxx.com; Wed, 30 Jan 2008 15:32:52 -0500 Received: from ftwestinvest@aol.com by imo-m21.mx.aol.com (mail_out_v38_r9.3.) id o.bfd.26c20c90 (37689) for <xxx@xxx.com>; Wed, 30 Jan 2008 15:32:47 -0500 (EST) Received: from adminbum (ac841928.ipt.aol.com [172.132.25.40]) by cia-mb08.mx.aol.com (v121.4) with ESMTP id MAILCIAMB085-933947a0dee23da; Wed, 30 Jan 2008 15:32:36 -0500 From: "John Foremore" <ftwestinvest@aol.com> To: <xxx@xxx.com> References: <001501c862db$d0abf7b0$7203e710$@com> In-Reply-To: <001501c862db$d0abf7b0$7203e710$@com> Subject: RE: business partner Date: Wed, 30 Jan 2008 15:32:22 -0500 Message-ID: <009801c8637f$40499660$c0dcc320$@com> MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0099_01C86355.57738E60" X-Mailer: Microsoft Office Outlook 12.0 Thread-Index: Achi28z+tGB4z/VSSnKpVOKwG6iP2AAo1meg Content-Language: en-us x-cr-hashedpuzzle: AJid An0b AuvQ EBnE EhHG EsJJ FWPs GzGw Gzpz HERn HN5W HjHr Jy7/ KUKq LCjF MyAs;1;YgBlAGEAdABvAGMAawBAAGkAbgB2AGUAcwB0AG8AcgB zAGwAZQBuAGQAaQBuAGcALgBjAG8AbQA=;Sosha1_v1;7;{FF2 AE839-0553-4586-8E16-7E7A6AD34922};ZgB0AHcAZQBzAHQAaQBuAHYAZQBzAHQAQABh AG8AbAAuAGMAbwBtAA==;Wed, 30 Jan 2008 20:32:02 GMT;UgBFADoAIABiAHUAcwBpAG4AZQBzAHMAIABwAGEAcgB0AG 4AZQByAA== x-cr-puzzleid: {FF2AE839-0553-4586-8E16-7E7A6AD34922} X-AOL-IP: 172.132.25.40 X-Spam-Flag: NO Envelope-To: xxx@xxx.com |
|
|||
|
These are generally fraudulent check scams whereby yuo recieve a check and are asked to cash it, deduct a percentage for y9ourself and send the balance by some international service to them.
Problem one - If you get caught trying to cash a check that is fraudulent, you can wind up in jail in any case you certainly will be liable for the funds when the bankc discover then check is a fruad if you do cash it. Problem two - you are aiding and abetting in a criminal activity Problem three- under US lawa you are not employed buy these people so don;t offer the argument that you were carrying out an employer's instructions Problem four - no-one is going to believe that you were not suspicious of an overseas company who purports to be doing business in the US yet can't avail itself of modern electronic money transfer methods - come on - no legitimate concern uses unknown people as check cashers - one check at a time! Problem Five - it's illegal so know that you are breaking the law and they are getting away with the money and you are traking all the risk. Problem six - no decent compnay woould hire you sight unseen from a list of resumes with no idea of who you are, what you do, no idea of your background andno way of tracing you! Problem seven - if they have your detials inc your banking details, they may try stealing your identity and you will never catch them because you have no idea where 'they' are!! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Dear gathompson Welcome to this forum. I can tell you all above with just 5 words only "from victim become a suspect" and there is already post about (article "some useful advices", permalink 2). There are also some other posts and alerts about fake checks and money orders very informative.
__________________
Better safe than sorry
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|