![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Submit Tools | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
I contacted the bank that these guys are using in Spain and they have opened an investigation so "hopefully" these guys get tracked down and caught.
What was really amusing is HSBC here in the UK was not even interested in investigating the matter, their answer was its an overseas payment so they will not even attemt to assist in the investigation. |
|
|||
|
I have been looking for an RX 8 for sometime and come across one on pistonheads for £5000, email the seller and got the same emails back, he also sent me this link to the company he wanted to use .:::Better things are yet to come..., while looking for the company i come a cross this, he's using the name Martin now.
Here was the car i was looking at but its been taken down now : Mazda : Mazda RX-8 High Power 231 bhp 2004 Thanks RON20 |
|
|||
|
Hi everyone,
Just some good news, After contacting Spain and being told the money had been drawn from the account I paid it into, they then contacted me regarding some of the feeds from this site, that I sent, (Thanks a million by the way) about an investigation that was underway. I got my money back on the 06.03.08, I think these scum bags got caught . Most amuszing part is I just happened to decide to check my bank account on the 07.03.08 and saw the money, when I asked HSBC about the money it took them nearly 30mins to find an answer, they came back saying it was a payment made by the Spanish bank but they did not know what it was for........So 10 out of 10 to the Spanish bank, its good to see some of the big guys (Banks) looking out for the small guys for a change. Once again thanks for a great and informative forum, you rock!! |
|
|||
|
Hi everyone,
Here is a dodgey email I recived, I saw this advert on Autotrader and the price looked to good to be true, so I sent a mail and guess wha,t this time the person is a doctor moved back to Switzerland Check this out: From: Gabrielle Higgs [mailto:gab48xx@googlemail.com] Sent: 14 March 2008 08:41 To: Niven Michael Subject: Re: 2005 MERCEDES-BENZ A CLASS A160 CDI Classic 3dr Diesel Hatchback (private) Hi, The 2005 Mercedes-Benz A 160 CDI Avantgarde is still for sale. never implied in any accident, in excellent condition. There are no signs of prior damage on this vehicle. I worked for 2 years in a private clinic as a doctor. During this period I bought a car. Now I am pregnant and I have decided to give birth in my home country so I have decided to sell my car and go back to Switzerland. The final price is £ 2.700 sterling + shipping to your door. To calculate the shipping cost please include your shipping address in your next email. I am the registered keeper and there is no outstanding finance on the vehicle. The car is in perfect condition, the bodywork is immaculate, no scratches, dents or hidden defects as well as the interior in excellent non-smoking condition. Due to amount involved and due the fact I am not located in the United Kingdom, I only accept third party transaction mediator. All documents, including V5 log book on your name will be provided along with the car. Please email me soon if you want to move forward and let me know if you need anything else. All the best!
|
|
|||
|
This is unreal, two of these emails in 10min, love it.
Now that I know where to look you can find these all over the place, I recon this is the same person same story, doctor, pregnant etc but this time in Germany. Joanne Parker [ysaloa34@googlemail.com] Hello and thank you for your interest to buy my car. My name is Joanne Parker. I am 31 years old and I am a doctor. I am the owner of the VW Golf 2.0 TDi 140PS. The car is in perfect condition, the bodywork is immaculate, no scratches, dents or hidden defects as well as the interior in excellent non- smoking condition , never implied in any accident . Now I am pregnant and I have decided to give birth in my home country so I have decided to sell my car and go back to Germany. The price is £ 3000 sterling + shipping to your door.To calculate the shipping cost please include your shipping address in your next email. I am the registered keeper and there is no outstanding finance on the vehicle.Due to amount involved and due the fact I am not located in the United Kingdom, I only accept third party transaction mediator. All documents, including V5 log book on your name will be provided along with the car. Let me know if you are intresed ... Here are the pics of the car: http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/1303/16712190sn5.jpg http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/263/97382546jo9.jpg http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/9717/95909948ll6.jpg http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/3443/85136400yo4.jpg |
|
|||
|
I Got The Exact Same Email. Word For Word I Am So Glad I Have Read This As I Was Talking To Some One Local Through Email About A Golf Local Recieved That Email But Through A Different Account And I Started To Think How Did They Get This Email Address . So I Googled The Emailadress And Found This Site. So Thank You
|
|
|||
|
Hi all,
Got another one from "Joanna Parker" Whoever this is they are either not the brightest scammer or is just plain lazy. Check out below, same letter as my last posting, but with a different car and email address, I have notified Aoutotrader's Scam/Fraud department of the possiblity that they have got fraudelant activity on their site: Email as follows: joanne parker [joanne31@verizonmail.com] Hello and thank you for your interest to buy my car. My name is Joanne Parker. I am 31 years old and I am a doctor. I am the owner of the 2004 Audi A4 1.9 TDI SPORT 130. The car is in perfect condition, the bodywork is immaculate, no scratches, dents or hidden defects as well as the interior in excellent non- smoking condition , never implied in any accident . Now I am pregnant and I have decided to give birth in my home country so I have decided to sell my car and go back to Germany. The price is £ 3000 sterling + shipping to your door.To calculate the shipping cost please include your shipping address in your next email. I am the registered keeper and there is no outstanding finance on the vehicle.Due to amount involved and due the fact I am not located in the United Kingdom, I only accept third party transaction mediator. All documents, including V5 log book on your name will be provided along with the car. Let me know if you are intresed ... Here are the pics of the car: http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/7247/js8002ak7.jpg http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/1460/js8003fs0.jpg http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/6230/js8004sa4.jpg http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/7983/js8001yb8.jpg hopefully this one gets caught before damage can be done because they don't seem to be the brightest. Good honting everyone.
|
|
|||
|
Hi,
I found your forum after almost getting caught out. The deal looked to good to be true, and yes, of course it is. Going through my case, I think I've found a possible way to catch these guys... They must get the car details plus copies of the V5 and a selection of bills by going to view a car when it is offered for sale, they then use low resolution copies of these to help with their story that they own the car. In my case, the V5 was just about clear enough to make out the previous owners name, and through directory enquiries I have his phone number. I will try and phone him tonight to alert him that his old car is being used for a scam, hopefully he will also alert the current owner. Most usefully, he must have met the scam artist when he viewed the car, and would remember who he was, as he took pictures of the documents. This means we've got a fighting chance of getting this guys actual phone number (from when he arranged the appointment). He probably never figured on being traced back, so this is probably his real number. With his number, it's possible to either go through the phone company to find his identity, or to set up a meeting under some false pretence. If the police were willing to get involved, we could catch him... I believe it's possible to get to him thorough other scams too, just respond, ask to see the documents, he will send a low-res copy of the V5 and from there we can contact the owner... Does anyone agree that this is worth trying ? Mark |
|
|||
|
Thanks for the reply,
I'm at work and sadly don't have time to go through the forums to see whether there is any advice there on the best way to report this, so... Do you have any advice on the best way to report this ? My plan was to simply phone the local police station, however I fear that they won't have the resources to deal with this. Is there therefore any form of specialised Fraud department I can contact instead ? Thanks, Mark |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|