![]() |
|
|||
|
Hi everyone I just found this site.
I am a photographer and found a camera on craiglist for a pretty good deal. I sent an email and got this back. It was originally posted in Sioux City, Iowa or St. Louis about a month ago "Hello, What do you guys think? The gear I'd be paying for would normally be about 2000 USD and I'd be paying 1300 USD. He took a while to respond (about noon his time) Thanks, Matt Last edited by Happensix : 03-12-2008 at 03:00 PM. Reason: additional information |
|
|||
|
Hey thanks for the info, it sounds sort of fishy to me too.
Here's a email he sent back to me when I asked him to let me know what post was his (I emailed a bunch of them) Hey Matt, This is my camera for sale : "Canon EOS-1D Mark II Digital SLR Camera, Lens and More". The price is $1,300.00 USD. The process works like this, i will go at Royal Mail's office and let the package in their possession and start the process, they will notify you about this and send you an email with an invoice with the tracking number and the instruction on how to complete the transaction. You'll have to send them the payment for the items, after your transfer is verified the package will be on his way to your address, You'll have 5 days inspection period from the moment you have the package. If you're satisfied with the purchase you can instruct the to release the funds to me If not, you can return the items and Royal Mail will make a full refund minus the fees to return the package. So if you want to make this happen please provide me your full name and shipping address. I will support the shipping and handling cost and you the fee to send the money to Royal Mail. Thanks, Stan The idea of sending payment sounds pretty much like a scam to me. But I don't really know how Royal Mail works... If I was to mail something across the ocean I would do that too.... What do you think? Also- Here's the original post Canon EOS-1D Mark II Digital SLR Camera, Lens and More Last edited by Happensix : 03-12-2008 at 04:22 PM. |
|
|||
|
Dangit...all the good deals are scams...
I was looking at buying a macbook pro and got the same email in responce. Here it is... " Obviously we need a safe way to complete this deal that will allow us to make sure we receive what we are after.I have found a way for us to complete the deal fast (3 days) and easy. The solution is Royalmail. Royalmail is the UK's national mail carrier and they will provide assistance in handling the payment and delivery of the items .With this process you will be able to check the items before I receive the payment.Let me know if you agree with this! Here is a link where the process is described: http://www.royalmailoffice.com/transactions Collin Parker Aintree Complex, Fazakerley Hospital, Longmoor Lane, Liverpool, Merseyside L9 7LN Ph: 07031862589 Email: jump_so_high@live.com " Anyway...I dont trust it. dangit. |
|
|||
|
I almost fell for this too! I am so glad I found this site.
I was going to buy a MacBook listed on craigslist in Mississippi. I emailed about it and the reply came back that she was in school in the UK and has the computer with her. I responded to the listing the day after it was listed, so why would she list it, then run off to Liverpool the next day? She reponded again with the exact message listed above, "Obviously we need a safe way to complete this deal..." Well, the link she gave to "royalmailoffice.com/transactions" looks legit and even mirrors over to the actual Royal Mail site (royalmail.com) when you take off the "/transactions" part. But, the fact that the domain is different looked fishy. Not to mention the typos and grammatical errors on the transaction site. |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|