|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Submit Tools | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
Saw this ad for a 100,000.00 car on sale for 13,000.00. Whimisically sent the seller an e-mail saying that if it was for real (if he was that dumb) I would go for it; expected to hear that this was a prcing/typo error. However, I got an e-mail stating that this "too-good-to-be-true" offer was true. Here is a copy of the response:
Hello there, Thank your for your interest in my car.First of all I want to tell you that the car is still available and includes all the shipping costs and insurance, so you wont have to pay any extra charges. The car looks like new, it has never been scratched or wrecked. It will come with a clear title, bill of sale signed by me as well and all the papers (including the original manuals and keys) that you will need to register it under your name. Please e-mail me back and I will request an invoice right away. Then, all you will need to do is wait for the invoice form eBay Purchase Protection and follow the instructions eBay Purchase Protection provides in there. I'm selling it at a low price because I've just moved to London,United Kingdom and I can't drive it here because cars from here are with the steering wheel on right,and this it have the steering wheel on left so for me this car is useless.the car will be shipped from London,United Kingdom. It is already at the shipping company, crated and ready to go.The car will arrive to your door in 5-7 days tops. The final price is $13,000. For payment, I´ll like to use an eBay Purchase Protection service,so we'll be both protected. No money first to me - i will receive money after you will receive the car.The transaction will be made under eBay Purchase Protection's buyer protection plan. Since this deal will be made using a THIRD PARTY to help us closing this deal, I prefer honnest buyers. Anyway,if you want more details about this deal, please reply with the following informations: -Your full name; -Your shipping address; -Your phone number; I'm a serious seller and a fair trader and I prefer to deal only with a serious buyer. If you consider yourself one please e-mail me back so we can start our deal. I will look for your email, so that we can move forward with this deal! Here are a couple of odd things: 1) The ad was not on ebay 2) This apparently includes shipping (to Canada ?) 3) This car is EASILY worth 75,000.00 4) Why can't he drive this in the UK ? 5) It sounds like he ALREADY TOOK THE CAR TO LONDON ? 6) Has anybody heard of an "eBay Purchase Protection's buyer protection plan"? Fo an ad through another website ? 7) Return path/sent by not the same: Return-path: <@live.com> Received: from blu139-omc2-s6.blu139.hotmail.com ([65.55.175.176]) Frankly, this entire thing stinks, although I might try to play him along a bit to get more info (ex. see if the IP address stays the same, etc) Has anybody got an idea how/where I can look into this further ? Or heard of this before ? John |
|
|||
|
Just wanted to let you know that I received the EXACT same email from 'James' - the only difference is that he was selling a 2006 Range Rover for $14,500. It sounded like a crazy deal but I thought it wouldn't hurt to inquire. I'm also curious why he would take a $90,000 vehicle to the UK saying he couldn't drive it (which really, he can) and then sell it back for a steal.
|
|
|||
|
Below are 2 emails I exchanged with this James Watson.... I am going through the same process as you .... This is too good to be true. Why is the guy not asking only 5,000-10,000$ less than the retails value...it would be more credible! Anyway, now that I see that this guy posted so many cars for sale I believe it is a scam....how ever if it seems to be so risk free it would be nice to have the car ship over and actually see how he proceeds. I guess the ebay application he sends my be fake as well and then they just take your money.
One very weird thing is that I wanted to talk to him over the phone. I said"Where ever you are I will call you" and of course he never provides a phone #. too good to be true! Anyone lives in Saskatchewan and could go see the car in person???!!!! be careful! On 28-Aug-09, at 6:59 PM, James Watson wrote: Hello again, Since I am in UK for just a few days and my phone line is not installed yet. I will gladly answer all your questions by email. This is the reason that I have chosen eBay service to manage the sale. Please ask me everything you want to know regarding the purchase. I am sorry for the inconvenience. I am able to ship the vehicle to your location and the shipping fees are included the final price. So, you'll get it for CA $5,800, without any additional costs involved. I prefer to use DAS Auto Shippers, the delivery will take 3-5 business days, with no scratch, it is professionally crated. I will only deal through eBay for our own protection, they will hold and insure your money until receipt of the vehicle in good condition. I am selling it under market value as I need the funds for an investment. I am involved in a real estate project in United Kingdom. I recently moved to Manchester, UK with my family because I received a better job offer. Look how this transaction works: 1. I will register the sale with eBay. In order to do that I need your contact details, full name and shipping address so I can register the transaction with eBay and make the shipping arrangements. 2. They will send both of us the forms about the payment and shipping by email. eBay will set up a purchase plan, involving a deposit and and the return policy which is available for these type of transactions. 3. I will send the vehicle to your location and you will send the deposit to eBay. 4. After you will inspect the vehicle and decide to keep it (you have 15 days for the inspection), eBay will transfer the money into my account. RETURN POLICY: If by any reason the vehicle is not as described, or if you find any problems with it I will pay for the returning fees. I'm sure it won't be the case because it's a state of art looking and working vehicle. As soon as the vehicle arrives, you will test it and if it does not match 100% to your expectations, you will return it in max. 15 days since the arrival date. In this case you will send me the vehicle in the same condition you received it. Please provide me with your full name and shipping address so I can register the deal with eBay and make the shipping arrangements. Looking froward to your reply. Regards. > Hello, > I appreciate your interest regarding my 2006 Audi A4. It is well taken care of, very clean inside and out. It is a non-smoker vehicle and it has never involved in an accident. It has recently professionally serviced. > The vehicle is located in Regina, SK. The address where it can be inspected is 1404 Scarth Street, Regina, SK, S4R 2E9, Canada. > I will sell it for CA $5,800.00 and the shipping fees are included in the sale price. > Looking forward to your reply. > Regards. |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|