![]() |
|
|||
|
I am currently looking for a new apartment in phoenix az and i came across an add that looked and sounded a little to good to be true on craigslist. It was posted a few times on different dates over the past month. I am not sure if anyone else has had problems with this same email address and person so i am checking into this as a weary buyer. I got an email from some one by the name of ellen reagamice, The email address is ellen_reagamice001@yahoo.com. When i look up the email address on google i come up with properties it seems this person sold several years ago in some other locations. the person is not selling there home simpley renting it to "trust worthy" people. is this a scam? they even called me on the phone a little while ago from the same number they gave me to reach them at.... im just scared because they want me to send a money order to dhl for the box with the keys and other apartment junk in it. i really need to know soon because if it isnt a scam i want to move into this place asap. if it is then oh well. please help... ive never heard of a nigerian scam calling you after blowing up there spot in an email and telling them to call you if they were real. ive never heard of them ever calling you... and i talked to them breifly and they will be sending me the address and more info around 4 so i wont be so sketched. if you have any advice help!!
|
|
|||
|
It is just a free-mail and there is no post in this forum about this but that does not mean it is safe.
Can you post or send me by PM full headers of the mail you received to check where the mail comes from? Seems a litle bit strange to send money order to DHL for a box. DHL can collect their charges on delivery and I supose that must be a very small amount for a box just with keys.
__________________
Better safe than sorry To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
|
|||
|
Hello,
It is a great pleasure that to you are interested in my flat.Thanks for your email and it is my gladness to hearing from you.I am Ellen Reagamice,the owner of the house you are making enquiry of.Actually I resided in the house with my family,such as my wife and my only dauther before and presently we had packed due to my transfer from my working place and now situated in the (West Africa Nigeria) and presently my house is still available for rent for $500 per month including the utilities like hydro,washer and security,it is furnished .Pls i want you to note that,i am a kind and honest man and also i spent a lot on my property that i want to give you for rent,so i will solicit for your absolute maintenance of this house and want you to treat it as your own,is that taken,it is not the money that is the main problem that is why is cheap but want you to keep it tidy all the time so that i will be glad to see it neat when i come for a check up.i do that once in a while.I also want you to let me have trust in you as i always stand on my word. SO IF YOU ARE REALLY INTERESTED I WILL WANT YOU TO FILL THE RENT APPLICATIONS FORMS BELOW RENT APPLICATION FORM Also,Pls let me get this answer. 1)Your Full Name 2)Your Full Address & Phone Number 3)How old are you? 4)Are you married? 5)How many people will be living in the house? 6)Do you have a pet? 7)Do you have a car? 8)Occupation? 9)What is your religion? Looking forward to hear from you with all this details so that i can have it in my file incase of issuing the receipt for you and contacting you. Await your urgent reply so that we can discuss on how to get the document and the key to you or come and see you in person,please we are giving you all this base on trust and again i will want you to stick to your words,you know that,we do not see yet and only putting everything into Gods hand,so please do not let us down in this our property and God bless you more as you do this. Thanks and you are welcome call me (phone number i deleted for his saftey just in case but it's the same number that called me) |
|
|||
|
I asked
Quote:
The mail is phishing your personal data and nothing more. If you send even 50$ for Nigeria is a fortune. I also supose that his phone number is 00234 780 ,,,,,,,,,,, which means a prepaid mobile. His IP from the mail could confirm that comes from a scam, I bet on that 1$.
__________________
Better safe than sorry To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
|
|||
|
i thought it was fishy also, when they called me i called them back and i talked to the person on the phone breifly and was barely able to tell what he was saying because he spoke so fast but i asked him to send me the information on the apartment, pictures, his full name, and what the address of the apartment is so that i may check on it my self and see if there is actually anyone living there at the current time to i can bust them and tell others on cl not to answer this email. the phone number they called me from is a 234 number but it then has 808 after it... im not sure whats going on but i need a new place bad right now.
|
|
|||
|
Just try yellow pages to find an legal office to rent a house than to trust an unknown Nigerian sending even a dollar .......
__________________
Better safe than sorry To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|