![]() |
|
|||
|
Anyone got any thoughts on this ?
The format is the standard PayPal phishing email and below is the standard gmail warning message. The url displays the message 'identified by Verisign'. Has anyone got any thoughts on this ? is it a genuine PayPal site or have the scammers fornd a way to beat Verisign ? PayPal <accounts@paypal.us> hide details 10:52 am (10 hours ago) date Oct 27, 2007 10:52 AM subject Notification from Billing Departament Warning: This message may not be from whom it claims to be. Beware of following any links in it or of providing the sender with any personal information. Learn more We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your PayPal account from a foreign IP address. If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in attempts may have been initiated by you. However if you are the rightful holder of the account,click on the link below to log into the account and follow the instructions. https://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run If you choose not to complete the request, you give us no choice but to suspend your account temporary. It takes at least 72 hours for the investigation in this case and we strongly recommend you to verify your account at that time. If you received this notice and you are not the authorized account holder, please be aware that it is in violation of PayPal policy to represent oneself as an other PayPal user.Such action may also be in violation of local, national, and/or international law. PayPal is committed to assist law enforcement with any inquires related attempts to missapropriate personal information with the intent to commit fraud or theft. Information will be provided at the request or law enforcement agencies to ensure that perpetrators are prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account. PayPal Account Review Department. |
|
|||
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Welcome to this forum. We all know paypal link. Have you something to tell us? |
|
|||
|
The scammers have developed a number of ways to mimic Verisign. In any event don't ever click on a link in any email that you suspect is a Phishing attempt. Go directly to your paypal account and login and direct any questions regarding your account to Paypals support staff. Also forward the spoofed email to paypal.
Be aware that fraudsters have also been using various spoofed websites to pull off Ebay scams including spoofs of the private email message notifications from Ebay which they then use to get your account login details. I had my Ebay account hijacked this way a few years ago but was fortunate enough to catch the fraud before any damage was done. |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|