|
|||
|
Just wanted to get information out regarding a scammer who is currently operating under the name of Micheal Worns (spelled exactly that way), with an e-mail address of "royalversion1@gmail.com" He has also used an e-mail address of "royalversion1@yahoo.com."
He tried to scam a family member of mine buy offering to buy an item that was listed on Craigslist. In this particular case the game is to offer to buy the item for more than it was listed for (to cover shipping and other costs) and to ask that the item be sent to an address in Nigeria. If the seller balks at sending the item to Nigeria, he counters with a request to send it to a friend on Bromley Road in London, Kent, England. The scammer states his desire to present the item as a surprise gift to his child and emphasizes the urgent nature of the transaction. He states that he will make his payment via Paypal, and asks that the item be sent when payment is received. I discovered that this is a common approach: the scammer will try to find a way to send a fake e-mail to the seller from "Paypal" indicating that funds have been transferred into his account. Alternatively, the scammer will have a fake e-mail sent requesting a that a shipping or tracking number be provided in order to complete the money transaction. I discovered his alternate e-mail by plugging in "royalversion" into a google search, and it returned this posting by a French e-bay user (also here is the Google English translation, which leaves a bit to be desired, but it gives the general sense): http://questions-reponses.ebay.fr/th...adID=900017891 http://translate.google.com/translat...ari%26rls%3Den If anything, this post will be one more hit that may be returned, should anyone else come across this scammer and do a Google seach for his e-mail address. In addition, I found a fake website that is obviously for show only: www.royalversion.com If anyone has any questions regarding this scammer, let me know. |
|
|||
|
Hi there,
I am sorry to say but this Nigerian person still exists. I have become his victim. Please see all the forum posts on Gumtree uk this guy re-activated on Gumtree and and steal people's good by asking them for shipping their goods to Nigeria and by not paying for them a single penny. I became his victim. his gumtree nickname is either David Forsyth or Paul Jones (he is using 2 different email addresses). Let me explain what has happened a) I have sold goods to David Forsyth via Gumtree. As per his request - I have posted all my items (shoes and dreses) to the required address. Mr. David ensured me then once he gets the postal confirmation he will proceed with the payment (£143 in total) b) I have sent him the postage confirmation and because my paypal address is yet to be verified i have kindly asked my friend to use his paypal address c) what happened next was: my friend received to pending payments (random £360 amount of money, not £143 which was requested by me) . We couldn't do anything with the money (transfer, cash etc) as they didnt exist. d) I have sent about 10 emails to Mr. David Forsyth and requested for the payment...nothing never happened. I have saved all his emails as a prove. e) in the meantime, via Gumtree, i have received another question about the other item which I am selling via this website from the guy called Paul Jones the theme of his email was exactly the same as the initial email i received from David Forsyth that's the same person. !!!! I guess I need to call the police . What is your advice on it? I have not lost my items, not received the payment for them. I thought I will let you know about this situation cause this guys is using different emails / paypal addresses and he probably doesn't exist. I have gone a step further and with my friend's help we managed to find his IP and even his address in Nigeria. DO you think i should tell Police about and and report him to Nigerian Embassy??? Thanks |
|
|||
|
Sorry to hear you have been scammed. Lets give this scammer some free publicity, so others can see he is a low life and avoid him ! This will "chop his dolla"
"Monday, 3rd August 2009 at 1:44pm selling an ipod on gumtree and got a email from steve_siler@hotmail.com on behalf of service@paypal.co.uk (ship.postmenn@representative.com) this is a SCAM . I phoned paypal and confirmed this idiopt really thinks im going to send it when no amounts in paypal account RUMBLED DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS BLOKE he sends a email with the address of dforsyth15@yahoo.com" Posted here: PayPal Scam Alert | Under the Gumtree AnonymousLondon, you can do some searches on Google and see if you can find other scams by him and post them here. You can also post copies of his emails to you on here, just xxx out any of your personal details . If you put dforsyth15 @yahoo.com in the title bar as I have done the Google spiders will pick it up and anyone who checks this email will see this information. The scammers HATE this!
__________________
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Do you need to check to see if your credit information is in the hands of a scammer Please Visit: To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|