![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Submit Tools | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
Hi
I dont know if this is the right forum but its close enough. Maybe you can move it if necessary. I sell items on Craigslist and regurlay get approached via email by questionable buyers who have poor English. But recently a buyer just flat out attempted to rip me off using Moneygram. Usually you think of a seller doing the scam. But believe me, buyers do it every bit as much! I was selling a camera and the buyer wanted to use MoneyGram. I recommended to him that Paypal was a better option, as they will most usually protect a buyer's interest. But, he wanted to use Moneygram so I said okay. I GAVE HIM MY NAME AND ADDRESS so he could send the money. I went to their website and educated myself on how the service works. MoneyGram does not send you a confirmation email stating you have money! Remember this. Nevertheless, I received a couple of emails from "MoneyGram" stating that I have received funds which were in the amount more than what I asked for. Luckily, I am no fool and became quickly suspicious. CLUE #1 Upon checking the email headers, it actually originated from financier.com domain. According to a Google search, that domain is typical associated with email fraud. CLUE #2 Regardless of the bogus information that was thrown together in an attempt to steal my merchandise, the item has to be sent somewhere. And most likely it will be where the thief can pick it up. I would like to think that they would be smart enough NOT to have it sent to their house. There is a shipping address listed: SHIPPING INFORMATION: Name :Tony Saco Address :5225 Auburndale City :Utica State :Michigan Zip Code:48317 Country :United States After googling that address I came up with associating that property as real estate being sold by a Century21 agent in that area. The person listed there is actually the agent selling the property. He is of Arabic origin it looks like. I also forgot to mention that the fake MoneyGram emails sent to me are in Arabic Encoding because it says it at the top of the email title window in Outlook Express. Coincidence? I dont think so! If you Google that address further you will notice that the mailing address has been used for numerous ventures of some sort. I am posting below this line the email addresses for which were used in the transaction against me in hopes that if someone else receives email from this thief, they will be smart enough to Google the addresses and find their way here!! Every email I received was from a different domain with a different display name. emtravelers.express@financier.com fullmoon_aderenle@yahoo.com robertckcool@gmail.com Side note: When corresponding with this person, they seem to like putting "forgive an forget" at the bottom of their messages. |
|
|||
|
Used a gmail address to contact me the first time, then yahoo the second. All emails seem to come in the very early am hours. Then this am recieved an email from moneygram. Upon reading thier website realized they dont send confirmation emails. I noticed when you click reply it goes to this emtravelers.express at financier dot com. When I type this into any search engine I come up with all these fraud and scam alerts. Glad I checked a little further.
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|