|
|||
|
Is this a scam? I got it in my Yahoo mail inbox.... I actually received another email from this so-called bank...I'll post that one as well.... any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
CENTRAL CLAIM OFFICE, MACHESTER CITY 61B Ashbourne Avenue, Manchester, NW11 0DT, United KingdomREF: SR000847 CONGRATULATION SELECTED WINNER, The PayPal Payback Raffle Draw conducted in August 2008, the results has just been released today. And we wish to announce to you that you have been selected as one of the lucky winner of Paypal PayPal Payback Raffle Draw with a Ticket No: A0258176X, REF: SR000847 making you the winner of the total Prize of ONE MILLION POUNDS STERLING (1,000,000.00 GBP). How do I claim my prize? All claim will be verified by our agent company, you are therefore require to send corresponding mail notice for claim to the payment bank with the information along with your Name Address, Sex, Age, Nationality, Occupation and Telephone Number. Upon confirmation of your status, your prize fund will made available for payment by our paying banks.Your total winning prize is deposited in a Bank in London,England to complete the final remittance process on the release of your paypal prize. Below is the prize deposit track numbers: you should indicate this number and your winning amount in your communication with the bank. Find below the contact details of the paying Bank. STANDARD CITI BANK PLC LONDON EC2N 2DL UNITED KINGDOM Contact person: Sir David Fell Director of Funds Transfer Tel: +44 704 573 7252 OR +44 704 576 4763 Fax: +44 700 597 6791 Email: scb_accounts@btinternet.com Congratulate again and we wish you more chances. As part of our security protocol, you are advised to keep this notification confidential to avoid impersonation. Hernández Francisco Adrián Europe Organizing Committee Manchester City Central Claims Office ================================================== ===== Copyright © 1999-2008 PayPal. All rights reserved. |
|
|||
|
This was the second email I received regarding the Paypal online award.... any thoughts would be greatly appreciated....
STANDARD CITI BANK PLC Reference: SR000847 ADT: 2024/6028/14/311 CC: (Central Depository Department) CC: (International/Foreign Remittance)Prize Deposit Track Numbers: Attention: PayPal Winner, We have received your details and contact information from THE ROYAL BOB HILTON AND SECURITIES, the PAYPAL ONLINE AWARD PROGRAMMES payment issuing company. This is for the release of lottery winning draft in tune of One Million British Pounds Sterlings (£1,000,000.00 GBP). You are to please provide the following information as indicated by the originating institution for our further verification. *Names. *Contact address. *Age. *Gender. *Ref. number. *Prize deposit track number. *Occupation. *Country of residence *Nationality. *Telephone number. *Fax number. *Passport Identity. Your are to forward these information as soon possible. Upon the receipt of these information stated above which will be verified with details received from the above named company, all directives regarding the transfer of your winning prize will be released to you immediately. We hope to be of service to you now and in the near future. Respectfully, Sir David Fell Director of accounts Tel:+ UK calls (0704 576 4763) Tel: oversea +44 704 573 7252 OR +44 704 576 4763 (Direct Lines) Fax: +447005976791 +448704958410 UK Fax: 08704958410 Standard Citi Bank PlcUnited Kingdom |
|
|||
|
Dear kbranyon
Welcome to 419Legal and thank you for posting. This is a typical scam email. This seems like a variation of fake lottery scam. There are many doubts!! #1: Free web email address receives a redflag. Legit companies or banks have their own domain email addresses for their business contact and never use free email accounts. #2: Phone number beginning with +04470*** can be redirected to any part of the world. and scammers are very fond of using this number to hide their true place. #3: Postcode "NW11 0DT" doesn't agree with Manchester but should be Barnet, London(Greater) If you continue to contact with them, they would ask you to pay for document fee, courier service, lawyer etc till you can't afford to pay. So please DON'T reply to the email and NEVER send your personal details like Quote:
It is best to ignore and delete the email. Awareriskinc Last edited by Awareriskinc; 09-17-2008 at 03:30 AM. Reason: Add info |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thank you for the reply. As you intented, this thread can be found on the top of google search. So lots of potential victims would find this forum if they tried to search the scam. You save many people around the world from this scam!! Well spotted!!! Awareriskinc PS : Next time please post email with full head headers (minus your email address and name for your security reason) to look into its further details. Thank you for your cooperation. |
|
|||
|
Dear anniew
Welcome to 419Legal and thanks for your reply. We are glad you didn’t fall for the scam. Please do google search or try any search engines if you received skeptical emails from unknown person. Or you can use “Search” tool in this forum, which can be found on the top of right hand side. Awareriskinc |
|
|||
|
I have also received the exact same email with the same ticket number and reference number.
I sent it to spoof at paypal.com and this is what they told me: Hello Ian MacMillan, Thanks for forwarding that suspicious-looking email. You're right - it was a phishing attempt, and we're working on stopping the fraud. By reporting the problem, you've made a difference! Identity thieves try to trick you into revealing your password or other personal information through phishing emails and fake websites. To learnmore about online safety, click "Security Center" on any PayPal webpage. Every email counts. When you forward suspicious-looking emails to spoof at paypal.com, you help keep yourself and others safe from identity theft. Your account security is very important to us, so we appreciate your extra effort. Thanks, PayPal This email is sent to you by the contracting entity to your User Agreement, either PayPal Ince, PayPal Pte. Ltd or PayPal (Europe) S.à r.l. & Cie, S.C.A. Société en Commandite par Actions, Registered Office:5th Floor 22-24 Boulevard Royal L-2449, Luxembourg RCS Luxembourg B 118 349. So I suggest that anyone recieving this email send it to this address spoof at paypal.com so that PayPal can take the appropriate action to stop this fraud. The only thing is that I have already sent the requested info to them but not any bank info. I hope I can stop this before they get any info that could harm me. Thank you for the post. CENTRAL CLAIM OFFICE, MACHESTER CITY 61B Ashbourne Avenue, Manchester, NW11 0DT, United Kingdom REF: SR000847 CONGRATULATION SELECTED WINNER, The Paypal Payback raffle draw conducted in November 2008, the results has just been released today. And we wish to announce to you that you have been selected as one of the lucky winners of Paypal promotion draw with a Ticket No: A0258176X, REF: SR000847 making you the winner of the total Prize of ONE MILLION POUNDS STERLING (1,000,000.00 GBP). How do I claim my prize? All claim will be verified by our agent company, you are therefore require to send corresponding mail notice for claim to our agent with the information along with your Name Address, Sex, Age, Nationality, Occupation and Telephone Number. Upon confirmation of your status, your prize fund will made available for payment by our paying banks. Contact Claim Agent Company: ROYAL BOB HILTON AND SECURITIES Claims Agent Name: Davis Oliver Tel: +4470359 45165 ay.claimsdept@8u8.comCongratulation again and we wish you more chances. Hernández Francisco Adrián Europe Organizing Committee Manchester City Central Claims Office ================================================== ===== PayPal Europe is duly licensed as a Luxembourg credit institution in the sense of Article 2 of the law of 5 April 1993 on the financial sector as amended (hereinafter the Law) and is under the prudential supervision of the Luxembourg supervisory authority, the Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier, with registered office in L-1150 Luxembourg. ================================================== ===== |
|
|||
I received the same email, (almost the same) to claim my prize they wanted my Address my date of birth and My Nationality, Occupation and my telephone number! Yeah right! Is there anything that can be done with these people? I am sure the next thing they would want would be my Bank account number!!!! May be my two children I am not sure. Man who falls for this stuff! I wish I could win ONE MILLION STERLING!! Ha! Ha! I knew it was a SCAM cause I never win ANYTHING! LOL
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|